Official development assistance (ODA) is defined by the OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC) as government aid that promotes and specifically targets the economic development and welfare of developing countries.


By official agencies, including state and local governments or by their executive agencies


To countries and territories on the DAC List of ODA Recipients and to multilateral development institutions


Provision of grant or concessional loan to aim at economic development and improvement of welfare in developing countries

ODA by aid type

  • Bilateral core contributions
  • Multilateral ODA
  • Project-type intervention
  • Experts and other technical assistance
  • Others(Administartive costs, budget support, etc.)

Most ODA is biateral, meaning that its state donor is identifiable at the point of delivery to intended beneficiaries. Multilateral ODA, on the other hand, is aid given into a pool administered by some intermediate organisation, so that the delivered aid is no longer attributable to a particular original state donor.